Diagram of a disabled person

This is a project I’ve had in mind for quite a while now. I created this image to get it out of my head and I’m pretty happy with it.

I’ve addressed some of my heath problems on this blog but there are several others that I haven’t written about yet. This sums it up in a nutshell.

I have had issues in the past stemming from the fact that I am disabled but don’t look like it. I’ve been told I’m too young, pretty, skinny, happy etc. to be disabled and that is total bullshit. Those things and disability are not mutually exclusive.

I’ve struggled to not be resentful when I am judged in this way. It’s hard not to feel guilty when you have to continue sitting in a train seat that in another life you would have given up to the apparently more needy than you. It’s even harder dealing with the assumptions from those around you that you are oblivious or just rude. It’s hard to maintain the level of self-care and preventative maintenance necessary for my health when I’m in public and worried about how I appear to others.

So for one thing, I’m trying to worry about it less. I know that “I do what I can when I can” so if I can give up my seat to someone at some point, you can bet I will do it. And I’ll try not to feel bad when I can’t. I’m going to forget the idea I’ve had of tattooing myself with a handicap placard so people will understand the position I’m in. I’m just not going to do that.

Secondly, I’m going to do my part at representing those with invisible illnesses and educating those that aren’t familiar with people like me. And I’m hoping my diagram might give some perspective.

Diagram of a Disabled Person 1

One thought on “Diagram of a disabled person

Leave a Reply

