I liked it too much to quit 

Today my self-care looked like listening to good music with headphones on and my eyes shut. 

Today my self-care looked like taking a sorely needed nap. 

Yesterday my self-care looked like singing as loud as I could and giving no fucks.

Today my self-care looked like practicing alignment and authenticity. 

Today my self-care looked like working my ass off to make my sister happy on her wedding day and then relaxing and enjoying myself at her wedding.

My self-care was an all day effort today. When I was overwhelmed and upset I respected those feelings and cried to release them. In my struggle to remain authentic I remained silent at times when I could have been antagonistic while surrounded by people of very different beliefs. I made room for alone recuperation time at the expense of time spent with family I live far away from.

Today my self-care looked like a venti dirty chai latte and a warm blueberry scone.

Yesterday my self-care looked like a giving my son my phone to play with so I could have some quiet time on our flight.

Two days ago my self-care looked like keeping track of my self-care in my head instead of on the blog to keep my to do list as small as possible.

Today my self-care looked like spending the extra money to get an actual haircut done by another person. It was a treat.

Today my self-care looked like taking a long bath. 

Today my self-care looked like sharing french toast, fresh fruit and orange juice with my son.

Today my self-care looked like deciding it’s time to quit candy.

Leave a Reply

