Silver Lining

One unfortunate thing led to two important things that happened last night. I slept for an hour and then was awake for an hour almost the entire night. That is until 5 when I couldn’t fall back to sleep at all, and was just awake until my alarm went off at 7:30 to get my daughter ready for school.

That unfortunate night of sleep allowed two things to happen. Firstly, I remembered a second benefit of Narcolepsy! I’m more contemplative and creative in the middle of the night than any other type of day. So last night I had about 5 hours of thinking time while lying in bed waiting to fall back to sleep. [On a side note, if I have too many days of inadequate sleep, it can kick-start a manic episode. And not a fun one, where I’m happy and spontaneous, but a nasty one where I’m irritable and irresponsible.]

Secondly, those 5 hours of thinking time led to a couple of great breakthroughs in regards to my screenplay project. I did some research last night on basic screenplay structure and how to arrange the scenes as cinematically interesting and plot efficient as possible. [I like to make up my own damn words. Why is cinematically not a word? It should be.] I realized that there was a lot of bloat in what I have outlined, because it is currently very close to what actually happened in my real life. I started to be able to see my real story from an outsiders perspective and thus able to change certain scenarios to a more movie compatible scene. I figured out clever ways to incorporate several elements into one scene as opposed to spread out through the movie.

Breakthroughs! Super inspiring breakthroughs! Thank you, sh-tty night of sleep! Thank you, Narcolepsy!

One thought on “Silver Lining

Leave a Reply

